Wednesday, April 8, 2009

NHL Hardware Season

It's that time of year again, where sportcasters cast their votes for the NHL's best players. Again this year, my choices will differ greatly from others', especially those in the mass media.

Here's a look:

HART TROPHY (MVP award, to the player judged most valuable to his team)
1-Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
2-Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
3-Zach Parise, New Jersey Devils
4-Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets
5-Mike Richards, Philadelphia Flyers

VÉZINA TROPHY (best goalie)
1-Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins
2-Niklas Backstrom, Minnesota Wild
3-Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets
4-Evgeny Nabokov, San Jose Sharks
5-Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks

NORRIS TROPHY (best defenseman)
1-Niklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
2-Dan Boyle, San Jose Sharks
3-Andrei Markov, Montréal Canadiens
4-Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
5-Mike Green, Washington Capitals

CALDER TROPHY (best rookie)
1-Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators
2-Bobby Ryan, Anaheim Ducks
3-Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets
4-Patrick Berglund, St.Louis Blues
5-Luke Schenn, Toronto Maple Leafs

JACK ADAMS TROPHY (best coach)
1-Claude Julien, Boston Bruins
2-Todd McLellan, San Jose Sharks
3-Andy Murray, St.Louis Blues
4-Paul Maurice, Carolina Hurricanes
5-Jacques Lemaire, Minnesota Wild

FRANK SELKE TROPHY (best defensive forward)
1-Mike Richards, Philadelphia Flyers
2-Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
3-Samuel Pahlsson, Chicago Black Hawks
4-Maxim Lapierre, Montréal Canadiens
5-Sergei Fedorov, Washington Capitals

LADY BING TROPHY (most gentlemanly, least penalized)
1-Zach Parise, New Jersey Devils
2-Andrew Ladd, Chicago Black Hawks
3-Chris Drury, New York Rangers
4-Simon Gagné, Philadelphia Flyers
5-Loui Eriksson, Dallas Stars

What are yours?

No comments: